| 0

The Welsh Highland Railway / Rheilffordd Eryri

The Welsh Highland Railway now runs from Caernarfon to Portmadog and five stations or halts are situated in our study area:

Snowdon Ranger – Halt

Rhyd Ddu – Station

Meillionen – Halt [temporarily closed until June 2018]

Beddgelert – Station

Nantmor – Halt

Railway Book 1922



Date Incorporated

Date Opened


Head Office


Portmadoc, Beddgelert and South Snowdon

1ft 11 1/2in

7 August 1901

4 miles 60 chains

Clark Street, Dolgarrog, North Wales

C. E. Hemmings, 4 Broad St. Place, London EC2

Welsh Highland Railway 1923-1937

1941: Track taken up for use in war effort.

The Portmadoc, Beddgelert & South Snowdon Railway (PBSSR) never ran a service.

2009: The rebuilt Beddgelert Station was officially opened by Lord Elis-Thomas on 7 April 2009.